



## Athletics New Brunswick names 2017 ADSP teams

Athletics New Brunswick is very pleased to announce the athletes who have been named to the **Athlete Development and Support Program** for 2017. The ADSP teams are based on performances from the 2017 indoor and outdoor seasons. ANB wishes to congratulate these athletes on achieving these great performances and attaining the required standards. The ADSP is divided into four tiers, each representing a step along the path to achieving national and international success. The program encompasses athletes from Midget (U16), Youth (U18), Junior (U20), Espoir (U23) and Senior categories. In total, 100 athletes have been named to the 4 teams this year.

"Even more athletes have reached these standards this year compared to last," observed Steve LeBlanc, ANB's Director of High Performance. "We are very pleased to see athletes progressing through the system and working towards higher levels of success. We have seen many great performances this past year at the national and international level," he added. "Our continued growth as a province can be seen in the number of athletes hitting these notable marks, and our presence on national teams and on national podiums."

Executive Director of ANB, Gabriel LeBlanc, was also pleased to see the growth in the ADSP. "This program is designed partly to recognize the success of our athletes, but also to help them to continue to train and compete at the highest levels. This is our path to future success, and we are well on our way."

The ADSP represents a \$20,000 commitment from ANB towards its athletes. Athletes will receive access to various training and competition opportunities organized by ANB. Those in the Elite and High Performance teams will also receive direct financial support.

The **ADSP Elite team** is made up of 9 athletes: Grace Annear (Hampton), Jack Berkshire (Fredericton), Laura Dickinson (Miramichi), Shayne Dobson (Campbellton), Brady Graves (Saint John), Geneviève Lalonde (Moncton), Andrew LeBlanc (Fredericton), Nick MacMackin (Quispamsis), and Sarah MacPherson (Fredericton). These athletes will each receive \$2000 in direct funding support from ANB.

The ADSP High Performance team is made up of 13 athletes: James Brace (Intervale), Bridget Brennan (Beechwood), Michael Colford (New Maryland), Veronica Coombes (Shediac Cape), Jordan Henri (Moncton), Adrian Kinney (Bristol), Victoria LeBlanc (Saint John), Shelby MacIsaac (Riverview), Tyrell Marin (Dalhousie), Sarah Myatt (Fredericton), Véronique Omalosanga (Moncton), Craig Thorne (Quispamsis), and Alex Witmer (Moncton). These athletes will each receive \$250 in direct funding support from ANB.

There are 41 athletes named to the **ADSP Performance team** and 37 named to the **ADSP Development team**. The complete list of athletes, along with more information on the ADSP can be found on the ANB website in the Programs section at: <a href="http://www.anb.ca/Programs/adsp.php">http://www.anb.ca/Programs/adsp.php</a>